Himalayan Rivers of India

Himalayan Rivers of India, the article provides a brief description about them.  These rivers in Himalaya are very long. These Himalayas (Himalayan Rivers of India) rivers are perennial because they derive their water from snowmelt and rainfall. But, the seasonal variation of the water-flow is a typical feature of this Himalayan river system. Many important rivers had their origin in the Himalayas. The Himalayan rivers provide a new dimension to the scenic beauty of Himalayan region. In those areas, the Himalayan river system is the major source of life. These Himalayas rivers enable the formation of irrigation process and forest belt in those regions. Let us learn about the Himalayan river systems in detail.

Himalayan Rievrs - 1


The himalayan rivers contain 3 systems.

  • The Indus System
  • The Ganga System
  • The Brahmaputra System


This himalayan river system consists of the river Indus and the 5 tributaries of this river – Sutlej, Beas, Ravi, Jhelum and Chenab. Near the Mansarovar lake, the Indus originates in Tibet at a height of 5,180 metres and enters the territory of India in jammu and Kashmir.


The origin of Ganga is the Himalayas. It is one of the major himalayan rivers. After its headstreams, Bhagirathi and Alaknanda gets united at Devaprayag, this river gets its name.

Also Read More Articles at swamirara.com


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s